A new version of our website is now available. Visit the new and redesigned BJC.org experience.

Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

A salute to nurses across the St. Louis region

May 03, 2023
May 03, 2023

Nurses across BJC, Washington University honored as Excellence in Nursing winners

Resilience, hope and compassion. Nurses embody these qualities, and their dedication makes possible the extraordinary care you deserve.

For more than a decade, St. Louis Magazine has hosted its annual Excellence in Nursing Awards, spotlighting the remarkable efforts of nurses in the May issue each year to coincide with National Nurses Week. Through the years, the magazine has recognized more than 500 outstanding nurses across a wide range of practice areas and levels of expertise, from emerging leaders to those with decades of experience.

This year's award winners have been announced, and several nurses from BJC HealthCare and Washington University School of Medicine have made the list.

According to St. Louis Magazine, the awards recognize nurses who exemplify the profession’s best standards of practice and who advance the area’s level of health care through their commitment and leadership.

They consistently exhibit selfless care, compassion and service,” the magazine noted. “We never cease to be moved by these nurses’ inspiring work, from life-changing moments of life and death to kind, thoughtful gestures that make a lasting impression on patients and their loved ones. So beyond recognizing the following honorees, we encourage you to reach out to nurses across the region with a simple message: Thank you.”

As passionate care providers and dedicated patient advocates, nurses are an important part of our health care system. Thank you to all BJC and WUSM nursing staff — and congratulations to the following 2023 Excellence in Nursing Awards winners:

  • Pediatrics: Non-Neonatal: Tori Boyer, St. Louis Children's Hospital
  • Neurology / Psychology / Behavioral Health: Amber Malcolm, Washington University School of Medicine
  • Advanced Practice: Elizabeth Schappe, Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine
  • Emergency Department: Nina Arnold, Missouri Baptist Medical Center
  • Medical-Surgical Nursing: Timothy Patrick, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
  • Cardiovascular: Kendra Wickline, Memorial Hospital Belleville
  • Hospice / Home Health / Palliative Care: Carol Massmann, St. Louis Children's Hospital

See all of the award winners and see all of this year's finalists.

The 2023 selection committee included Debra Harrison, executive coach, MEDI, and former chief nursing officer, Mayo Clinic; Lola Denise Jefferson, first vice president, National Black Nurses Association; Brigit VanGraafeiland, assistant professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing; Phyllis Zimmer, founder, Nurse Practitioner Healthcare Foundation; and Carli Zegers, assistant professor, University of Kansas School of Nursing.

< Back

4901 Forest Park Avenue
St. Louis, Missouri 63108
Copyright © 1997- 2024 BJC HealthCare. All Rights Reserved.